Luxury Bed & Breakfast in Rhayader, Mid Wales

Local Area

What to do in Mid Wales and Rhayader? Within the local area there is much to offer, with Cardigan Bay and the west coast, Aberystwyth and the Cambrian Mountains, Brecon Beacons and north Wales all within driving distance. The Elan Valley reservoirs and estate are within 3 miles and Gigrin farm, the Kite feeding station a few minutes along South Street. Being near the Kite feeding station these beautiful birds are often seen flying over the garden and using the trees as impromptu dining tables. The Elan Valley also enjoys Dark Sky Status, due to the lack of light pollution and on a clear night, there are fantastic views of the night sky.

red kite visiting penralley b & b

Get Directions

  show options

There are a variety of things to do in the local area these include:

Walking – You can join local walking groups or the Elan Valley Rangers for guided walks (see www.elanvalley.org.uk)

Fishing – Rhayader & the Elan valley angling group has stretches on local rivers for fly fishing and on some of the reservoirs (see www.rhayaderangling.co.uk)

Horse Riding – From the Lion Royal Hotel, Rhayader (see www.lionroyal.co.uk/trekking.html)

Cycling – Mountain bike hire (www.clivepowell-mtb.co.uk)

The Thomas Shop – (see www.thomas-shop.com)

Abbey Cwm Hir – A grade II listed Victorian gothic revival hall with 12 acres of grounds next to a Cistercian abbey (see www.abbeycwmhir.com)

The Judges Lodgings Presteigne – A Victorian household shared by the judge, his servants and the cells for the prisoners going before the bench. (See www.judgeslodging.org.uk)

Welsh Royal Crystal – The Royal glass crystal workshops ( See www.welshroyalcrystal.co.uk)

Llywernog Silver-Lead Mine – An old lead silver mine open for tours (www.silvermountainexperience.co.uk)

Hampton Court Gardens – A castle and grounds open to the public. ( See www.hamptoncourt.org.uk)

Gilfach Nature Reserve – located in the Marteg valley a 410 acre hill farm reserve managed by the Radnorshire Wildlife Trust (http://www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/gilfach)

Gigrin Farm Kite Centre – The Red Kite feeding and rehabilitation centre (http://www.gigrin.co.uk)

Ynyshir – RSPB Nature reserve made famous by ‘ Springwatch’ (http://www.ynyshirhall.co.uk)

Wyeside Arts Centre Builth – For films and stage (www.wyeside.co.uk )

Rhayader Leisure Centre – Local sports facility including swimming pool

Ceredigion Museum – located in Aberystwyth, a fantastic museum of the local area (http://www.ceredigionmuseum.wales/)

National Library of Wales – with excellent exhibitions, a cafe, shop and more. It’s a must visit if you’re in Aberystwyth for the day. (https://www.library.wales/)

Book Now:

Check In date:
calendar icon
Nights: